CVCD Excellence Awards 2010

CVCD Excellence Awards are a Family of Awards made under the Patronage of the University Grants Commission of Sri Lanka. The University Grants Commission (UGC) is the apex body of the University System in Sri Lanka which was established in 1978 under the Universities Act No. 16 of 1978 and the Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Directors (CVCD) was established in 1979 under the Universities Act as an advisory body to the University Grants Commission. The CVCD family of awards are presented to recognise and honour outstanding contributions and accomplishments of the permanent academic staff in All Sri Lankan Universities.

In the year 2010, under this scheme, applications were called for the following Awards.

1. The Most Outstanding Researcher
2. The Most Outstanding Young Researcher
3. The Most Outstanding Inventor
4. The Highest Grants Recipient
5. The Most Outstanding Promoter of International Relations

For "the Most Outstanding Researcher" and "the Most Outstanding Young Researcher" categories, the applications were called for in each of the six thematic groups as mentioned below.

1. Health Sciences including Medicine, Dental Science, Veterinary Science and other Allied Sciences
2. Technology and related Sciences including Engineering, Architecture, Quantity Surveying and Information Technology
3. Biological Sciences including Agriculture and Allied Sciences
4. Physical Sciences
5. Humanities and Social Sciences
6. Management and Law

Only the following awards were made at ceremony held on 16th December 2010 at the Presidential Secretariat under the distinguished patronage of His Excellency the President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka.

1. Prof. M.A.K.L. Dissanayake – Most Outstanding Researcher in Physical Sciences

2. Prof. M. Wijeratne – Most Outstanding Researcher in Humanities and Social Sciences

3. Prof. N.T.S. Wijesekera – Most Outstanding Researcher in Technology and Related Science

4. Prof. M.J.S. Wijeyaratne – Most Outstanding Researcher in Biological Sciences

5. Prof. S.A.M. Kularatne – Most Outstanding Researcher in Health Sciences

6. Dr. M. D. Hettiarachchi – Most Outstanding Young Researcher in Health Sciences

About CVCD

Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Directors, Sri Lanka consists of Vice-Chancellors of the Universities and Rectors of the Campuses in Sri Lanka.


Contact Us

Send us your valuable suggestions related to web.

  • Address: Web Master,
    CITeS, Uinversity of Moratuwa, Katubedda
  • Tel: +94 112651698
  • Email: