History of CVCD

The Committee of Vice Chancellors and Directors, Sri Lanka is founded to fulfill the need of creating a centralized platform for all the University administrators to work under a collaborative environment helping each other to grow.

Some key figures are listed below.

Launched: 1979
Number of Total Members: 35
Number of Member Universities: 19
Number of Member Campuses: 3
Number of Member Institutes: 17


1942: Established University of Colombo
1942: Established University of Peradeniya
1959: Established University of Kelaniya
1959: Established University of Sri Jayawardenapura
1972: Established University of Moratuwa
1974: Established University of Jaffna
1979: Launching of CVCD
1980: Established the Open University of Sri Lanka
1982: Established Buddhist and Pali University of Sri Lanka
1984: Established University of Ruhuna
1986: Established Eastern University, Sri Lanka
1995: Established Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka
1996: Established Rajarata University of Sri Lanka
1996: Established South Eastern University of Sri Lanka
1996: Established Sri Pali Campus
1996: Established Buddhasravaka Bhiksu University
1997: Established Vavuniya Campus
1999: Established Wayamba University of Sri Lanka
2001: Established Trincomalee Campus
2005: Established Uva Wellassa University
2005: Established University of Visual and Performing Arts
2007: Established General Sir John Kotelawala Defense University
2009: Established University of Vocational Technology

About CVCD

Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Directors, Sri Lanka consists of Vice-Chancellors of the Universities and Rectors of the Campuses in Sri Lanka.


Contact Us

Send us your valuable suggestions related to web.

  • Address: Web Master,
    CITeS, Uinversity of Moratuwa, Katubedda
  • Tel: +94 112651698
  • Email: webmaster@uom.lk